waterblogged

•October 15, 2010 • Leave a Comment
What is it about water that draws us humans so strongly? 
Oh sure, we need it to survive, it’s in every cell of our body, etc.  But you could say that about Sodium, too, and no one is getting all metaphysical over it.  We long to live near water.  It’s the number one draw for vacations, whether in the form of rivers, lakes, oceans, pools, or snow.  It is possibly the most foolishly wasted precious commodity when money trumps sense (Exhibit A:  Las Vegas). 

But what IS it about this simple molecule, merely an oxygen atom bonded to two hydrogen atoms, that gives us such strong feelings of peace and pleasure?

I personally have no good answers to this (sorry if you were hoping for them).  But I, too, feel its pull.  True, I spent my formative years on a small island, surrounded by the beautiful Salish Sea, but I’ve come to realize that doesn’t make me more strongly attracted to water than others; it just makes me luckier.  I know I’m not the only one who lies restless in bed on full-moon nights, pulled in some way beyond my understanding by the tides within.

 

Beyond the obvious gotta-have-it-to-live aspects, what would you miss about water if for some reason it was no longer available to us?  What is it about water that draws you in deeper, perhaps even spiritual ways?  And with that in mind, what can you commit to in order to keep it clean, drinkable, swimable? 

Today is Blog Action Day.  The topic this year is Water.  Go drink a glass of it and think about all the different things it means to you.

“I don’t know what to write”

•September 24, 2010 • Leave a Comment
Remember those free-writing exercises in school where you were told to just write anything that came into your head, and you couldn’t think of a thing so you’d just write, "I don’t know what to write, I don’t know what to write"?  That’s sort of where I am tonight.  It’s late.  I worked all last night.  I should be in bed and two hours into my sleep by now.  But my sister reminded me on Facebook that I need to update my blog…so it’s all her fault. 

My husband and I actually had a DATE this evening!  Friends who own a coffee house were holding a fundraiser for their nonprofit organization that provides job training for homeless young people.  (*Editorial rant below.)  So we got dressed up (or I did; my spouse had to meet with bigwigs at work today, so he already looked good), and spent the evening listening to live music, eating fantastic food, tasting wine, and meeting some of the folks in our community who try to make good things happen.  The really amazing thing?  We get to go out again tomorrow, this time to a birthday party in a bar.  I can’t remember the last time we went out two nights in a row without kids…it was probably before we had kids!

*(A travesty of our foster care system is that kids whose lives have usually been in turmoil for years and years–hence the need for them to be in foster homes–get kicked out at the age of 18.  Happy birthday!  You’re homeless!  There are many other reasons that young folks end up living on the streets, too, but this one makes me particularly mad.)

Equinox

•September 23, 2010 • Leave a Comment
I’m a full-time, stay-at-home mom; I’m also a part-time, work-at-night mom; I’m learning to be a somewhat disciplined writer; I’m the wife of a hard-working guy who doesn’t get to be home as much as any of us would like him to be…and I am many other things, as well.  All of this combines to mean that most of my time is taken up with the daily details of keeping a family running, and getting some–if not enough–sleep, and finding time to scribble a few words.  I don’t really get "a day off"…in fact, I don’t really remember what that would look like!  But I do give myself mental health days from time to time, and yesterday was one of them.

Not only was it the fall equinox, but it was also a glorious, sunny, perfect day, and it just so happened that I had an errand that took me to West Seattle.  I decided it was the perfect day to recharge my personal batteries.  I dropped the kids off at school and made arrangements for my preschooler to stay for the full school day, and then I went to yoga class.  Did I do my usual 40 minutes of cardio first?  NO.  I read a book while waiting for class to start!  Afterwords, I showered and headed to my favorite Value Village because I needed a pair of fancy-schmancy black shoes for an upcoming evening out…and there they were, for $4.  Then came the really great part of the day:  I drove to Alki Beach in West Seattle, where the city skyline is visible in the distance, as are the Olympic Mountains to the West, and beautiful beach stretches along Puget Sound.  I ate my very favorite sandwich (Avocado-Salmon) at the Bamboo Bar and Grill, and then took my notebook and a Tully’s Intense Dark Mocha to the beach.  The sun was warm on my back.  The seagulls sat around lazily, not paying me any mind because I obviously didn’t have any fried food to beg for.  Children I didn’t have to be responsible for laughed and played nearby.  The waves lapped quietly at the stony beach, then rushed in with sudden vigor when the wake of a ferry or freighter reached the shore.  I wrote a little bit.  I collected some pretty stones and some beach glass.  I drank my mocha and closed my eyes to feel the sun soaking into my hair, my shoulders, my soul.  I watched the endlessly varied parade of interesting people going by (Alki has some of the best people-watching I’ve found anywhere).  I hummed to myself.

By the time I had to leave, to pick up the kids, I felt like a new person–a relaxed, happy, pampered person who lives a life of privilege and ease…and I remembered that I AM, in fact, that very person.  I am privileged to stay home with my kids, to have a husband who helps take care of them and me, to have a job that makes me happy, and an artistic talent that both challenges and recharges me.  I am female in the best century yet to have ever been female (at least in my culture), in one of the most free and affluent nations in the world.  I have healthy kids, loving family, amazing friends.  Life is really, really good.  It’s important to take a bit of time to remember that once in a while.

Thelma is my role model

•September 15, 2010 • Leave a Comment
I’ve been going to the same health club for over a dozen years now.  During that time the facility has changed ownership a couple of times, and what used to be an women-only gym is now co-ed.  It has a new name now, and the general manager seems to change on a monthly basis.  The equipment has been updated, and where there used to hang overgrown potted plants, there now hangs a speed bag.  The child-care area that was once spacious and filled with natural light has been reduced to little more than a coat closet with a TV.  (For that reason, I now exercise there only while my kids are in school.)  The ambient music has shifted from rock and roll to pop and hip-hop, enormous flat-screen TVs hang in the corners, and the girls working the front desk appear to be about 17 years old.  That’s downstairs. 

Upstairs is another world.  It mainly consists of one large, mirrored room with big windows at each end and honey-colored sprung hardwood flooring.  A ballet barre runs down the length of the room, and the walls are warm shades of gold and rust.  This is the group exercise room, and not only is the room itself largely unchanged, many of the same instructors continue to teach there all these years later.

That room is one of my sanctuaries.  There, a core group of us who have been members through all the changes continue to show up several days a week, to be put through our paces by our beloved team of Lycra-clad tyrants.  We lift weights, do yoga and pilates, and jump up and down in all sorts of ways.  We also chat a lot, and leave sweatier and happier than when we arrived.

One of this group is a woman in her mid-70s, who is probably the busiest person I know.  She knows everyone who is anyone in our town (including my boss).  She is on committees, and panels, and who knows what-all.  She has a 99-year-old mother she spends a lot of time with, and an 80-year-old husband, and five children, and umpteen grandchildren.  She takes yoga, and step, and weight-lifting, and kick-boxing.

This morning, a group of us with school-aged children were sitting on our yoga mats before class, complaining about being tired for all the usual reasons, and agreeing that watching TV in the evenings is a poor substitute for going to bed early, and reminiscing about the good old days when the gym had a coffee bar upstairs. 

Then Thelma came in and announced that last night’s fundraiser was entirely too much fun.  She had a hangover. 

We all promptly agreed that we want to be her when we grow up.  (Minus the hangover, thankyouverymuch.)

Conundrum

•September 14, 2010 • Leave a Comment
We are all striving to live fulfilling, creative, meaningful lives, and many of us feel compelled to blog about it.  In fact, there are so many amazing, creative people out there writing funny/inspiring/fascinating blogs, that it has become a problem for me.  I want to read them all.  I want to know those people, if only vicariously.  It is a tremendous source of inspiration, and there is also a feeling of fellowship that comes with the intimacies and incidents and ideas we share in the so-called blogosphere.  The trouble is, if I take the time to read them all I have little time left for my own creative acts, my own life, my own blog. 

What to do?  Create yet another schedule, one that includes blog-reading time?  Or substitute blogs for bedtime reading?  (I think not!)  For now, I pick and choose, read a few one day, and a few the next, and try not to forget to do the laundry and the dishes in the process…

Musings

•September 13, 2010 • Leave a Comment
Fall is here and we’re settling down into the routines of school, always a huge relief after the fun but frenetic activity of summer.  Of course, soon the frenetic marathon of holidays will be upon us…so all the more reason to enjoy these sweet days that are still warm, but with a crisper, cleaner flavor in the air. 

Today, I started cleaning out the garden, pulling up the plants that are no longer producing food, digging up yet another round of weeds, and getting ready to put in a cover crop for the winter.  I am struck by just how eager the soil is to be fertile–just this spring, I turned over some of the hard, heavy sod that makes up our lawn, and now, a mere season later, that same soil is lighter, looser, darker.  Amazing what can be done with physical labor, a few dollars’ worth of seeds, and water!  It wasn’t a stellar garden year here in the Pacific Northwest–the tomatoes are mostly green still, and everything else was lackluster, except (of course!) for the the zucchini and the chard. 

I am setting for myself the very small goal of updating this blog every day for a week.  We’ll see how it goes.  It’s not likely to be earth-shattering, given the state of my brain at 9pm.   

Housekeeping

•June 9, 2010 • Leave a Comment
That’s what I’m theoretically doing this morning.  I even came STRAIGHT HOME after dropping the kids at school, instead of bopping into my favorite coffee shop, Kona Kai, to drink Hawaiian coffee and write for an hour as is my usual routine.  See?  So dedicated to the idea of one last thorough cleaning before the kids are done with school for the summer in a couple of days.  And I did get started on the cleaning, but then there was a phone call, which brought up a question, which could only be answered by turning on the computer…and that is never a good thing, because this box is the master of all procrastination devices.  It leaves TV in the electronic dust (would that be electrons?).  Anyway, I AM going back to the aforementioned cleaning in just a moment.  I swear I am. 
 
But First!  There is news in the blog world that needs to be shared! 
My friends Liz and Dawn and I have started a new blog together, called Vegan Infusion.  Inspired by the cookbook Vegan Fusion, it’s all about broadening our dietary horizons and including more vegan dishes and meals in our lives.  There are some recipes to try out, and some ideas to ponder, and three different perspectives represented.  I feel like I’m mainly tagging along for the ride…Liz is an amazing cook, and is finishing up her Masters in Wholistic Nutrition.  Dawn tries more new recipes in a month than I try in a year, and makes it look easy.  Honestly, I don’t know where she finds the time, because she has even more going on in her life than I do.  Me…well, I’ve been vegetarian longer.  Does that count?  Sometimes I cook interesting things.  Anyway, stop by and check it out!
 
And now, back to the physical-world housekeeping.

new blog on the block

•January 13, 2010 • Leave a Comment
 
Julie, a high school classmate and now a friend on Facebook, just started a new blog.  Check it out!
 
 
 
 

Averages

•January 13, 2010 • Leave a Comment
 
I recently read somewhere, "You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with".  My first thought was Oh, no!  Husband, two sons, and…let’s see, babies withdrawing from cocaine and heroin?  Yikes!  No wonder I’m a mess.  But the author of the article went on to suggest that the "people" you spend the most time with may not necessarily be the living, breathing humans in your life at the moment.  Ah, now we’re getting to something interesting!  Not only does this broaden our horizons, it recognizes that we have control of where our thoughts are regardless of where our physical bodies may be, and that those thoughts are vastly important to our well-being.
 
Say, for example (completely hypothetical!), you’ve come to the realization that your housekeeping is total crap, and you’re spending a lot of time thinking about your grandmother who really had it together, domestically speaking.  Assuming your grandmother was also a warm, loving person who absolutely believed that you could do anything and be anyone you so desired, spending this mental time with her enriches your life and perhaps you become more like her as you strive to channel her ability to maintain a warm, welcoming home that does not completely embarrass you when someone stops in for a cup of tea.  (The great thing about spending time with someone who is no longer alive is that you don’t have to spend time with every aspect of that person!  You can hang with the fun, happy facets of their memory and leave out the not-so-fun stuff altogether.)
 
Perhaps you are obsessively reading a particular author’s books this month.  Or maybe you’re writing a book of your own, and spend your days walking around in a daze and bumping into things because two thirds of your mind is wrapped up in your characters.  Or–possibly–you are completely wrapped up in a TV show and schedule your life around catching each new episode?  Or maybe you are a new mom, and all your waking hours (and the rare sleeping ones, as well) are completely focused on this little being who has just tilted your world on its axis.  Any of these can influence how and who you are at the moment, for better or for worse.  Or maybe just for different. 
 
Personally, I’ve been spending a lot of time in my own head lately.  This can be a useful activity, but I’m not always the best company.  I think I need to head to the library for some books by people who inspire me to be better at the things I’m working on in my head…being a better mom, a better spouse, a better nurse…and yes, a better housekeeper.
 
So, who are you spending time with these days?  What sort of person do they average out to be?  Need to make any changes?  The new year is a great time for thinking about these things.

it’s about time!

•October 5, 2009 • 1 Comment
 
So I seem to have skipped over Spring and Summer here entirely.  Allow me to summarize:
 
In Spring, we went on field trips…
 
 
 
 
…started a garden…
 
 
 
…visited the island…
 
                   
 
…I took an encaustics class with Dawn and Liz…
 
 
 
…went to the Folklife Festival at Seattle Center…
 
 
 
…celebrated P’s 9th birthday at Alki Beach…
 
 
 
…got a haircut…
 
 
 
 
…and spent more time on the beach…
 
 
.
 
 
In Summer, we:
 
…celebrated the 4th of July at home…
 
 
(yes, that’s really how it looked!)
 
…and ended up staying up too late a time or two…
 
 
 
…went cherry picking…
 
 
 
…and rockhounding…
 
 
…and camping…
 
 
 
…and played in the water…
 
 
 
 
 
…and lay around a lot…
 
 
 
 
…and watched the garden grow…
 
 
 
 
…and harvested a LOT of zucchini…
 
 
 
…and had fires in the fireplace…
 
 
 
 
…and played with the neighbors…
 
 
 
 
…and just generally wore ourselves out!
 
 
 
So there you have it!  I’ll try to keep things a bit more current going forward, although if Fall continues to be this beautiful, I may have a hard time convincing myself to come indoors….